Lo Lifes

The Ralph Lauren culture is sweeping across London and this video documents the main people involved in the movement. Photos of the Lo Lifes by Brayden Olson and interview surrounding his time with the Lo Lifes after the jump!

VICE: How old were you when you got involved with the Lo-Life crew?

Meyhem Lauren: I was always into fashion and paying attention to clothes, but I’d say I was about 12 or 13 when I got into the whole scene and started racking Polos. There’s a difference between wearing Polo and rocking Lo. It was about coming through with the graphic shit, y’know, big crests, the wings, everything. It was about putting things together in a certain way.

Everything I’ve heard about this era makes it sounds like how you got the Polo gear was just as important as having it, like you wouldn’t get respect if you bought it.

It was more about the pieces for me. I didn’t care about buying, I didn’t care about racking, I just wanted it. There was a time in my life when I was racking Polo, pulling schemes for Polo, and spending checks from my day job on Polo. At the end of the day, it was about coming through fresh.

How many pieces did you have at your peak?

Over 1,000.

Wow, do you still have that many?

Not hard pieces with big symbols and graphics, but I probably have 1,000 items.
Chris Lo: I don’t have as many. Throughout the years I’ve kind of fallen off the bandwagon. Most of the stuff I’ve kept from back then are items with battle scars on them that I won’t get rid of because of sentimental value. But I probably have a good couple of hundred pieces left.

What’s the most expensive piece that’s been sold?

Chris: The most expensive piece right now is the Martini turtleneck. It’s probably like seven or eight grand.

What about really rare pieces? Were there certain ones that you couldn’t find anywhere?

There are pieces that are like, mythological.
Meyhem: The Never-Ending Bear.

The Never-Ending Bear?

Well, supposedly there’s a knit out there with a bear rockin’ a knit with himself on it, and he’s rocking a bear, and it just goes on and on forever [laughs]. Guys will swear they have three of those but they never bring it out, never rock it for flicks, but supposedly it’s there.

Ralph Lauren must have a bunch of rare items in storage somewhere, right?

One of my friends works for Ralph Lauren, and he told me that they have a warehouse with a bunch of old pieces: collector’s items, valuable things, items that would go for a lot of cash. But they test them before they release them. So he’s like, “Yo, I’ve seen them take Indian Heads and cut them, just to test the fabric, slice them all up, take a square out of the middle of a sweatshirt.” And this shit is crazy to me, it’s like telling me they put a baby in a cheese grater [laughs].

Check the rest of the interview here!

Leave a Reply

