Eric Tearle

Who are you and where do you live?
I’m Eric Tearle and I live just outside of North London right now.
Cameras you use?
I use a Canon AE1 and a Canon 500n for general or publication work. In terms of quick instant/experimental stuff I use my Instax 210 or my Advantix with expired APS film.
 When did you become interested in photography and why?
I learnt to develop photos, and learnt about the whole darkroom process about 10 years ago. I’d always admired photography; I just never tried it out. After a few years I picked up my 500n (that I still have) and started to take photos, I’ve been learning and developing ever since.
 Who were your main influences when you started?
I have always said this and I still maintain him as the main influence but it was defiantly Joseph Rodriguez. His book ‘Eastside Stories’ about LA gangs in the early 90’s made me want to pick up a camera and some Ilford and to start documenting that kind of work. 
What is different between your photography and others?
I’m not really sure. The ‘subjects’ I shoot aren’t all that original. I mean street and lifestyle photography has been around for some time. I guess my approach is different. I’ve tried to develop my own style, my own ‘look’. So I try to be original as possible when it comes to my approach and how I capture that moment. There is a lot of cliché work out there, especially when it comes to lifestyle and certain street wear brands. It’s all just the same. It’s boring and played out.
Continue reading after the jump!
Best city’s you’ve been too?
I’ve been to Cancun, mainly for holiday purposes, but Cancun city is pretty ghetto, it was interesting to explore a little. And I’d say Cairo also. The Pyramids are probably the greatest thing I’ve ever seen. I wouldn’t money going to NYC or LA, but I don’t have the money so those plans are on hold.
Favourite five photographers?
       Joseph Rodriguez
       Trent Parke
       B+ And Eric Coleman (they’re a duo so I guess it counts as one)
       Boogie
       Bruce Gilden
What pushes you to carry on?
Just the love of taking shots. I know taking photos everyday and being part of galleries, shows, books, publications etc is what I want to do. I’ve always said that I wanted a job which involves a hobby or a passion and it is something that I will achieve.
Any plans for the future?
I have no idea. I’m just going to carrying out doing what I do, and hope somewhere along the line it gets me where I want to go.

Film or Digital?
Film
Studio or Street?
Street

Music?
Hip hop. Mainly 90’s hip hop. I turn my ear to some other genre’s at times.
To check out what Eric has been up to since the interview check out his blog HERE and flickr HERE
1 comment

Leave a Reply

